Skip to main content

Michael Faran

Back to Advisory Board

Lois T. Flaherty, M.D. chairs the Advisory Board for the Center for School Mental Health. She is a child and adolescent psychiatrist who is well known nationally and internationally for her contributions in academic psychiatry, adolescent psychiatry, school-based mental health programs, and community psychiatry. Dr. Flaherty has been associated with the University of Maryland School of Medicine since 1978, serving as head of the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and founding the clinical school mental health program there. She is currently an Adjunct Associate Professor of Psychiatry at this institution, and has held faculty appointments in the Schools of Medicine at Harvard University and the University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Flaherty has held leadership positions in many national professional organizations. She is Editor-in-Chief of Adolescent Psychiatry, the official publication of the American Society for Adolescent Psychiatry. Currently she chairs the Committee on Adolescent Psychiatry of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. She is a Distinguished Life Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association, and in 2010 received a Distinguished Service Award from the APA. She is a Past President of the Group for the Advancement of Psychiatry, and Past President and recipient of the Schonfeld and Staples Awards from the American Society of Adolescent Psychiatry.

Other activities have included being an examiner and a member of the Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Committee of the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, and serving on the Residency Review Committee of the Accreditation Council for American Medical Education. She graduated from Wellesley College and Duke University School of Medicine, and trained in psychiatry at Georgetown University Hospital and in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at Johns Hopkins Hospital. She currently resides in Cambridge, Massachusetts.