Skip to main content
  • NCSMH Banner

Advisory Board

Since its inception in 1995, the National Center for School Mental Health has been guided by an active, informed, and diverse national advisory group with experience and expertise in school mental health research, training, policy, and/or practice.  Advisory members are engaged in NCSMH activities, attending in-person and virtual meetings, and contributing to NCSMH knowledge and tools by sharing their own successes, challenges, lessons learned, and resources. Advisory Board members help with broad-scale dissemination of NCSMH resources and tools to the field.

Advisory Board Members are listed below in alphabetical order with their associated organizations in parentheses.

Sharon Adams-Taylor (School Superintendents Association)

Carol Anderson (Utah State Board of Education)

Dawn Anderson-Butcher (Ohio State University School of Social Work)

Sally Baas (Concordia, University Saint Paul)

Paul Ban (Retired School Mental Health for Military Families)

Laura Bay (National Parent Teacher Association)

Johanna Bergan (Youth M.O.V.E National)

Seth Bernstein (United Way of Palm Beach County)

Scott Bloom (New York City Department of Education)

Jeff Bostic (Georgetown University Hospital)

Joanne Cashman (National Association of State Directors of Special Education)

Caroline Clauss-Ehlers (Rutgers School of Education)

Lucille Eber (Midwest PBIS)

Steve Evans (Ohio University)

Helene Fallon (Long Island University)

Michael Faran (US Army Medical Command)

Claudette Fette (Texas Woman’s University)

Louise Fink (Baltimore City Schools)

Lois Flaherty (Harvard Univerity)

Paul Flaspohler (Miami University of Ohio, Center for School-Based Mental Health Programs)

Beth Freeman (American Institutes of Research)

Julie Goldstein Grumet (Education Development Center)

Shashank Joshi (Stanford University)

Jim Koller (University of Missouri)

Ken Martinez (American Institutes for Research)

Donna Mazyck (National Association of School Nurses)

Matthew Mock (John F. Kennedy University)

Libby Nealis (National Association for Children’s Behavioral Health)

Julie Owens (Ohio University)

Janet Pozmantier (Center for School Behavioral Health at Mental Health America)

David Pruitt (University of Maryland, Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry)

April Rai (National Organizations for Youth Safety)

Frank Rider (American Institutes for Research) 

Mark Sander (Director of School Mental Health, Hennepin County and Minneapolis Public Schools)

Sandy Schefkind (American Occupational Therapy Association)

John Schlitt (School Based Health Alliance)

Judie Shine (American Council for School Social Work)

Mary Steady (Manchester School District, New Hampshire)

Bradley Stein (RAND)

Frederick Streek (The School Social Work Association of America)

Susan Tager (Mental Health Association of Maryland)

Kelly Vaillencourt Strobach (National Association of School Psychologists)  

Mark Weist (University of South Carolina)

Sandra Williamson (American Institutes of Research)

Marleen Wong (University of Southern California, School of Social Work; The Treatment and Services Adaptation Center for Trauma in Schools)

Richard  Wong (American School Counselor Association)

Nollie Wood (Mayor’s Office on Disabilities; Baltimore, Maryland)